Posted by: Jae | May 27, 2007

Sylvia Plath

Was cleaning out my room– separating treasures from junk, rescuing artifacts, destroying “evidence”, remembering, sifting, searching, finding, discovering — when I saw this poem I read many years back and remembered liking.

Sylvia Plath. Best taken with yosi and kickass Batangas coffee.

 

Mad Girl’s Love Song

by Sylvia Plath

 

“I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead;
I lift my lids and all is born again.
(I think I made you up inside my head.)

The stars go waltzing out in blue and red,
And arbitrary blackness gallops in:
I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead.

I dreamed that you bewitched me into bed
And sung me moon-struck, kissed me quite insane.
(I think I made you up inside my head.)

God topples from the sky, hell’s fires fade:
Exit seraphim and Satan’s men:
I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead.

I fancied you’d return the way you said,
But I grow old and I forget your name.
(I think I made you up inside my head.)

I should have loved a thunderbird instead;
At least when spring comes they roar back again.
I shut my eyes and all the world drops dead.
(I think I made you up inside my head.)”


Responses

  1. أغلقت عيني و تساقط كل العالم أمامي ميتا
    فتحت جفوني ، و ولد كل شيء من جديد
    ( أعتقد أنني اخترعتك من بنات أفكاري )

    النجوم ترقص الفالس بالأزرق و الأحمر
    و العتمات العشوائية غير المنتظمة تعبر إلى داخلي
    أغلقت عيني و تساقط كل العالم أمامي ميتا

    حلمت أنك أغريتني بسحرك لأذهب معك إلى الفراش
    و غنيت لي القمر ـ يصعقني ، و قبلتني بجنون
    ( أعتقد أنني اخترعتك من بنات أفكاري )

    الرب انحدر من السماء ، و نار الجحيم أصبحت باهتة
    و خرج من الرجال ملائكتهم و شياطينهم
    أغلقت عيني و تساقط كل العالم أمامي ميتا

    تخيلت أنك ستعود كما وعدت
    و لكنني كبرت و نسيت اسمك
    ( أعتقد أنني اخترعتك من بنات أفكاري )

    لا يجب علي أن أحب عصفور الرعد عوضا عنك
    على الأقل حينما يحل الربيع يزمجرون من جديد
    أغلقت عيني و تساقط كل العالم أمامي ميتا
    ( أعتقد أنني اخترعتك من بنات أفكاري )

    mad girl’s love song , poem by : sylvia plath

  2. Hey dan. I’m sure my arabic readers will appreciate the translation. (because you know, i have a worldwide audience.) Harharhar. Be well and take care.
    always,
    jae

  3. omg jae. yes, mad girl’s love song. it’s in the epilogue/editor’s note on the bell jar copy i have with me. sobrang love ko din yang poem na yan. you should recite it some time when we have socials.😀

  4. hmmm…. poetry reading sessions at our next inuman? i can already hear someone vetoing. hehehe.

  5. Ano Jae? Sino ba ‘yung friendster mo na ipakikilala mo raw sa akin sabi ni GAD? Gusto ko na rin sumulat ng mga korning tula. Hahaha!

    Some of the interesting lines from Sylvia Plath I like….

    Every time I listen to whining of a broken-hearted dear friend, I’m reminded:

    ‘How frail the human heart must be – a mirrored pool of thought.’ (Sylvia Plath)

    And every time well-meaning friends and family members blame my further studies/education about my backward lovelife, I find refuge to this yabang:

    ‘Apparently, the most difficult feat for a Cambridge male is to accept a woman not merely as feeling, not merely as thinking, but as managing a complex, vital interweaving of both.’ (Sylvia Plath)

    Thanks Sylvia! Hahaha….😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

