Posted by: Jae | September 2, 2007

Diva Dreams

Was meeting up with a couple of friends at Greenbelt and while waiting for them I decided to get a mani and pedi. I usually get my mani and pedi at this small parlor walking distance from my house, and I have a personal relationship with the lady who does my nails. But since I had nothing better to do, I tried out this nail salon center called Dashing Divas inside Beauty Bar Glorietta.

Ang bongga. I was so impressed, and maybe a tad intimidated at the squeaky clean interiors and the coifed-up model-looking people who went there to get their nails done. Me, I don’t even know what a cuticle moisturizer is, or that it was possible to exfoliate your nails. My eyes nearly bulged from their sockets (exag) when the lady who did my nails brought out a SEALED pack of nail implements, and opened it before my very eyes. Suffice it to say that the girl who used to get her pedicure done in a place where nail polish is called kyooteks was very very impressed. At hindi pa diyan nagtatapos: they served a complimentary martini. A MARTINI! I felt I died and went to diva heaven. Where everything is in girly-girly colors of pink and lavander. Where everything is sophisticated and stylish. And where everyone has a tinkle in their laugh and a twinkle in their eye.

Napaisip tuloy ako nung college kami nila Dianne at Charms. Bad trip kami sa isang tipo ng girls na forever maayos ang suot, mahaba ang buhok na kering-keri naka-rejoice, laging naka-makeup. They look so sophisticated with their perfectly-groomed brows and french-tipped nails. Nagpapalit ng damit pag gumigimik, habang kami kung anong suot mo during the day, yun na yon. Although eventually hindi na kami naiinggit sa kanila kasi we got the brilliant writer guys with character and panache (while they got stuck with the corporate types na medyo tabain), may mga moments na maiisip mo na masaya din maging diva princess even for a day or for an afternoon.

And mmmm. That was one delicious afternoon I had. I’ve been going through so much stress these days in my personal life, getting surrounded by all things pink, princessy and pa-girl provided some (momentary) respite.

princess.jpg

p.s. just to continue my “my friends have blogs” blog entry, here’s a shout-out to one of my favorite guy friends Barry, who’s always there for me no matter what, cold beer and sardonic wisdom in tow. It’s such great comfort to have a guy friend who you can count on to be around, despite busy schedules and existing relationships. Not many are like him. Barry’s spankin-new blog is here.


Responses

  1. Kahit maganda kuko mo kung lagi ka naman mukhang haggard, wala din. Joke lang. Wag ka nang malungkot ha. Wag ka na din ma-stress. Happy ka naman nung huwebes, di ba? Did yoga pay off? Hehehehehe. Smile!!! You’re gorgeous!!!

    Natawa ako sa “corporate types na medyo tabain.”

  2. Non-Malu Divalicious babe ka!

    Not just because of your nifty nails, but because you posted two blog entries today.😛

  3. korek! halatang walang magawa hahaha. actually, may isa pa ako, kaso dinelete ko nalang. may nagsabi kasi na based on the post, parang masyadong lasengga ang dating ko. haha.

  4. haha try mo din ang tony ang jackey.nakagown ang maggugupit sa buhok mo.yes, as in long gown.at heels.at habang naghihintay ka, pwede ka magsurf sa isang MAC.divang diva!at ok lng na madami kang posts in one day.at least, may regular non-jpepa break ako.

  5. buti naman nabasa ko yung last post mo bago ito nadelete, balik mo uli

  6. Golda: Naka-gown talaga? Haha. Actually, ok na ako sa free milk tea sa Azta Katipunan. Ayoko masyado ng hairdresser na english speaking, nastestress ako. At medyo naweirduhan ako sa Piandre Timog, kasi they have this person na forever lang nakatayo habang ginugupitan ka ng senior stylist at ang tanging trabaho ay pagpagin ang nahuhulog na buhok from the magazine you’re reading.

    Ako naman, kaya sulat ako ng sulat sa blog kahapon e natetense ako sa bondoc pen hearing bukas. Cross examination nanaman. Lawrd. Tapos ang haba na naman ng byahe.

    Levy: E kasi naman, narealize ko din na parang pagbasa mo nun wala na akong ginawa sa buhay kundi uminom. Hahaha. Di ko na maibalik dahil burado ko na. Uulitin ko nalang dito ang general sentiment sa last line, kasi dedicated naman iyon sa mga bar-takers (at oo nga pala, sa mga alternative lawyers na din, katulad mo..) —

    “To those who will be taking the bar, may you pass it. After you pass it, may you realize that you have more choices than you think. That there too is luxury in dirty jeans, big earrings, messy hair and cheap beer. And richness, so much richness, in knowing that you are where your heart wants you to be.”

    p.s. sabi ni jv, iinom daw tayo sa huwebes. hahaha. inom na naman.

  7. Dinadamay mo na naman ako sa mga pinagsusulat mo. Oh well. Buti na lang i mishu.
    I havn’t written for sometime. Oh no. Here we go again. where’s MY brilliant writer guy when I need him?

  8. mishu 2. lagi ko sinisilip blog mo, wala ka ngang entries. maysakit pa ako ngayon, badtrip. kung gusto mo, hanapan kita ng brilliant writer guy, tapos hanapan mo ako ng eastwood capitalist hunk with a starbucks twang. para maiba naman. hahaha.

  9. yuck.

  10. Di nako naiinggit.

    There is something infinitely more charming in women who don’t have to try so hard.

    Tayo yun!! hahah

  11. koreks. cheers. fabulous ka pa din talaga charms.


Leave a Reply

Categories

