Posted by: Jae | November 25, 2007

Note to Self

Some days you feel that nothing ever seems going your way and your life is Murphy’s Law-reality-TV. Failed to meet an important self-set deadline last week because of a series of hitches and glitches and I happen to take pride in the fact that I always meet my deadlines. ALWAYS. Sometimes by the skin of my teeth, sometimes through some cosmic intervention, but I always find a way of delivering on time. So when something like this happens, even if it’s not really my fault (but the fault of idiots running our national agencies who claim that SIGNED lease agreements entered into by the Philippine government are not public documents and hence are not covered by the right to information, JUSKUPONGPINEAPPLE!!!), it throws my equilibrium off in a major way.

And it doesn’t help that in the next ten days, I will be in Bulacan, Stockholm, Quezon, Aklan, and (possibly) Iloilo. Amazing race talaga itoh, bawal magkasakit!!! Haggard haggard haggard.

So I feel the need to remind myself that amidst this stress and personal frustrations, I am deep deep down inside, one happy little camper who doesn’t need much to be happy. It’s a message that bears repeating, if not to the rest of the world, then at least to myself.

This is my Friendster “About Me”:

At twenty seven, I like that it still takes so very little to make me happy. I like taking long morning walks on a tree-lined street all by myself and watching old couples teach each other tai-chi. I like getting my fingers sticky with drippy drops of dirty ice cream, and then licking them off afterwards. I like bursting into song in public places and going anting-anting window shopping in Quiapo. When I’m sad, I eat spam and watch Sound of Music and then I’m ok again. I like backrubs and Happy Meals and deep kisses and children’s books and white chocolate and salmon sashimi, not in any particular order and certainly not all at the same time (except maybe white chocolate and deep kisses🙂 ). I can laugh at myself and do so a lot — I like to think that means I stand on solid ground. I love long bus trips to Quezon and getting compliments for my cooking. I think life is too short to be wasted on perfunctory embraces and cowardice disguised as prudence. I like living and laughing and dreaming and dancing and hoping and forgetting and remembering.

maree.jpg

(This is me with my cousin Maree, the smartest seven-year-old in the planet. Once, when I was visiting them in Iloilo, she noticed that I was wearing a gold necklace with a crucifix. “Why are you wearing a cross, Ate?” she asked me. After thinking for about two seconds, I got into full good-Ate mode and replied, “So I will always remember Jesus Christ.” She furrowed her brows and then sniffed smugly. “Why, sometimes you forget?”)


Responses

  1. Hi Jae! Ok ‘yan, amazing race at haggard-haggard-haggard, kasi blessing ‘yan. Don’t forget, ‘ika nga ni Tita Maree!😉

    Let me know kung kailan ka nasa Stockholm baka kasi pumunta ako roon kung maka-tiyempo on the second weekend of December. Take care.🙂

  2. And yes, here’s an apt reminder for all of us, from Fr. Jerry Orbos’ column today:

    “Four blessed looks”:

    LOOK BACK and thank God;
    LOOK FORWARD and trust God;
    LOOK AROUND and serve God;
    LOOK WITHIN and find God.

    May we all find happiness ‘deep deep down inside’ us!🙂

  3. hi bonn.🙂 ill be in stockholm from tomorrow, november 27 until december 4. (hehe, at pagbalik ko dito, jet lag and all, diretsong quezon for farmers training on dec 5 to 6. today naman pa-bulacan ako).

    baka makatyempo ka na first week of december ka nasa sweden and not second week?🙂

    kung hindi naman, babalik ka bang pinas for the holidays?

    p.s. si Fr. Jerry yung lagi naghohomily sa parish namin sa Christ the King New Manila, magaling talaga sya lagi. Inspiring without being heavy-handed.

  4. مصائب قوم عند قوم فوائد

  5. Jae, para hindi mo talaga makalimutan si Jesus, magpa-tato ka na lang ng krus sa braso o dibdib🙂

    btw, habang nandiyan ka sa Sweden e paki-imbestiga nga yung mga magsasaka nila… balita ko kasi diyan nagsimula yung tinatawag na “swidden farming” na pinag-aaralan namin nung hayskul…

  6. Nandito pa ako sa Aalborg (northern part of Denmark), next week (first week of Dec) nasa Copenhagen na ako (malapit-lapit na sa Stockholm). Ikaw na lang kaya pumunta ng Copenhagen kasi may Christmas party mga Pilipino, pati na mga friends of Akbayan, sa Dec 2! Ingat at enjoy – remember medyo malamig na ngayon dito, nag-snow na rin, so bring proper, warm clothes. Tapos, mabilis mag-dilim, darkness talaga, haha (suwertehin ka sana makakita ng araw)!

    Yup, nasa Pinas ako para sa Pasko and for the next months siguro (hanggang balentayms o women’s day pa)!🙂

  7. noldie – oo nga balita ko may kaingin system sa sweden. snow ang slash and burn. sigh.. wala.. palpak ang retort kasi ang corny ng joke mo.😦

    yung tungkol sa pagpapatato ng jesus, umm, hindi ko din mahanapan ng comic value un.😦

    hehehe, but you do know i love you even on your off-days.🙂

    bonn – sige kita nalang tayo sa round of christmas parties sa pasko. glad to hear youll be here for that! ingat lagi sa dilim. 🙂

  8. remember to get me a postcard! hang it over your neck so you don’t forget to bring it home😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

