Posted by: Jae | August 2, 2008

Happy Thoughts on a Gloomy Day

Whenever I woke up to an overcast sky as a little girl, my lola would always telling me that thinking happy thoughts would make the sky clear up. Then, we would be able to go out and play patintero and Monkey Monkey Anabel and taguan again. Fast forward to now — it’s raining incessantly, I’m nursing a mini-flu, and the news is depressing (who bribed who in the Meralco-GSIS tug-o-war).

Five happy thoughts to make the rain stop:

a. I haven’t sat down to read and finish a book in a loooong time, owing to my crazy schedule, even though I keep on telling myself I should. A few days ago, I bought me a copy of “A Thousand Splendid Suns” by Khaled Hosseini (the author of the “Kiterunner”) and read it in one sitting, well into the night, even though I had an 8am hearing the next day. Of course, it’s the kind of book that that you sorta know would someday become a Hollywood movie, but it still is a moving and engrossing read in the tradition of the beautiful and lyrical language of the Kite Runner.

b. From the (slightly) high-brow to the downright jologs — can I just say that I am SUPER obsessed with Claudine Barretto’s newest soap IISA PA LAMANG? It’s so over-the-top and unapologetically escapist, you just gotta love it. Classic tagalog drama. They wear bonnets inside the house, go swimming dripping in diamonds, and every hystrionic confrontation involves pointing a gun at the other party’s temple. Oh and Gabby Concepcion is there, which makes it as classic as classic can get. I thought I was the only one who liked it, yun pala the girls in my law school block were into it as well. I love my lawyer-friends.๐Ÿ™‚

c. No matter how tired I am when I come back from area work, it still feels like I came back from a vacation. Maybe because I’ve come back from something that I truly love doing, with people I truly love being with. Was in Batangas Thursday and Friday, and facilitated two meetings with farmers. Na-happy ako when people said magaling ako mag-faci, and the reason I was so elated is, kinarir ko siyang matutunan in preparation for my not-so-secret CO dream. It’s a skill I wanted to develop so I watched how people would do it, listened very hard, asked questions. I’ve a long way to go and much to learn, but I like to think I’m off to a good start.

d. My fourth happy thought is that I am surrounded by wonderful friends. We have a couple of families over here in Manila whose husbands are farmers killed recently in Masbate, and the problem of their daily expenses soon became very real. I texted Yenyen, whose family owns King’s Foods, and she promptly responded with around 10 kilos of food stuff. I asked her on Friday and she had the items ready by today for pickup tomorrow. Unbelievable, this girl. Salamat, Yen. I am truly grateful.๐Ÿ™‚

e. And lastly, haaay, only a few days more and I’m off to Bohol for Anik’s wedding. Anik is one of my friends in UP debate society, and my very first debate teammate as we were in the rookie team together in Singaproe (can I just say, the team that broke into the octofinals on its very first try…๐Ÿ™‚ ). I’m so excited to go to the wedding, and I’m also excited to go to Panglao for the very first time. The past months have been tiring (ang hirap ng two-institution workload) and this is the brief break that I haven’t really had in a long, long time. I had planned to go on a diet to get me bikini-ready, but, well, you know how those plans go.

So there. Five random happy thoughts. Hope the rain stops. My flu stops. And I can watch John Lloyd and Sarah Geronimo tomorrow. Yippeeee.๐Ÿ™‚

p.s. shame on me for not bothering to write about the SONA. though what is there to say really? i thought assunta looked rockin’. hehe. jordan has a hilarious entry on the SONA here.


Responses

  1. saan at ano pa kelangan ng mga families from masbate?YM mo ako.

  2. hi golds! actually, food primarily. pero inisip ko din, may babies (yung isang pinatay, may 5-month old), so mga diaper at baby formula, malaki ang tulong. salamat!!!! (re saan, pwede mo ipadaan nalang sa akin. YM kita.)

  3. Thanks, Jae, for giving us a chance to help others.๐Ÿ™‚ It was our good, happy deed for the day. You’re awesome!๐Ÿ™‚

    What are the plans for these families?

  4. Ako din, Jae, please YM me for anything else you need.๐Ÿ™‚ Ganda ng A Thousand Splendid Suns, ano? I’m now reading the Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, sa tingin ko mag-eenjoy ka sa libro, sobra๐Ÿ™‚

  5. hi yen! we’re still trying to assess the situation so the plans are still up in the air. the primary thing, of course, is their safety and security. thanks again for your help!๐Ÿ™‚

    hi joan! sige, ill read your recommended book next.๐Ÿ™‚ re helping out, any sort of help is always welcome, kung pwedeng food stuff and grocery items, ok talaga yun. pwede kong ipapick-up wherever.

    TO ALL THOSE WHO WANT TO DONATE, TEXT ME IF YOU KNOW MY NUMBER OR EMAIL ME AY jae_fever@yahoo.com.๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Great site. Plenty of helpful info here. I am sending it to several friends ans additionally sharing in delicious. And naturally, thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

